1st Non-Incumbent Files to Run in Wyandotte Election

Lifelong resident Donald Schultz has filed to run for Wyandotte City Council.

The first non-incumbent has filed to run in Wyandotte's upcoming May 7, 2013 local election.

Lifelong resident Donald Schultz has filed to run for City Council.

Schultz, who serves on Wyandotte's Cultural and Historical Commission, Design Board Review Committee and Planning Commission, said he's anxious to run again after narrowly losing by 66 votes in the 2009 election.

"I just want to see if I can help the city some more," he said. "My big concern is code enforcement. ... It's the only way we keep the city clean."

Incumbent council members Sheri Sutherby-Fricke, Daniel Galeski, Lawrence Stec and Leonard Sabuda also are running.

Councilman Todd Browning cannot run again because of Wyandotte's term limits that keep a mayor or councilmember to three consecutive terms in office.

Instead, Browning is running for treasurer. 

Councilman James DeSana has publicly said he will not seek re-election.

Mayor Joseph Peterson and City Clerk William Griggs have filed to run again.

As of 2:45 p.m. Wednesday, those were the only candidates who had yet filed. The filing deadline is 4 p.m. Tuesday.

On the ballot next year will be the offices of mayor, assessor, treasurer and city clerk, as well as six council seats. The person elected for each office will serve a four-year term.

If enough people decide to run, a primary election would be held Feb. 26 to decide who appears on the May 7 ballot.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »