Primary Election Won't Be Necessary in Wyandotte

Ten people are running for six City Council seats. Mayor, clerk and treasurer posts are uncontested.

A primary election won't be necessary before the May 7, 2013 election.

The deadline to file for office was at 4 p.m. Tuesday.

Mayor Joseph Peterson and City Clerk William Griggs are running unopposed for re-election.

Councilman Todd Browning cannot run again because of Wyandotte's term limits that keep a mayor or councilmember to three consecutive terms in office.

Instead, Browning is running unopposed for treasurer. 

Jerry Kupser and Tom Woodruff are running for city assessor. 

Those running for council are:

  • Sheri Sutherby-Fricke
  • Daniel Galeski
  • Theodore Galeski
  • Johnny Kolakowski
  • Ted Miciura
  • Leonard Sabuda
  • Don Schultz
  • Lawrence Stec
  • Kevin VanBoxell
  • Val Zavala

Councilman James DeSana has publicly said he will not seek re-election.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »